Dear Outreachy Applicant;

Dear Outreachy Applicant;

ยท

3 min read

Compliments of the season to you. As we are still in the new year, new me time of the year ๐Ÿ˜‚, if part of your new year resolution is to get an internship or you want to start contributing to open source or you want to intern for outreachy, then this blog post is for you.

Before we get into that, If you have not heard about outreachy, read my blog post here to catch up and if you have heard about them, you can continue reading this post.

I am a data scientist like you know ( I am proud of my superpowers ), I will be focusing more about data science in this article but this knowledge can also be applied for other community in outreachy.

For my cohort (winter, 2022), Outreachy has two applications stage. The first stage was writing essays and submitting your github profile ( if you do not have a github profile, it is best you create one), your linkedin profile, twitter profile and some other information, if you pass the initial stage, then you can now move to the contribution phase.

The contribution phase is more community specific so you have to choose the community that resonate with you and work with your mentors in order to be successful in this phase. Each community have their own skill sets and specific qualifications. For me, I choose the Model Exchange And Convergence Initiative Organization (ModECI) where I am interning now.

If you are wondering why i choose ModECI, you need not to wonder, i am diving straight into it. Even though i have the skill set needed to intern successfully in my organization, that was not the main reason i choosed them. Modeci is an organization that is trying to create a medium that will enable ideas to be exchange across different discipline without the issue of Balkanization i.e Independency of computational modelling on each other or optimisation. They are trying to create a medium that can allow computational modelling from different disciplines to work in another field without issue of software environment, language et.c and to also ensure the model work exactly as it would in its natural environment despite its being in another environment.

This project upon completion will be a break through for general artificial intelligence and this made me so excited to be working on it. Also the work culture is so great, i get feedbacks on my contributions all the time, i get commended and i get to know why i should do things in a specific way. This is a big deal for me because i get to unlearn and relearn a whole lot of things as i not only know how to do it, i also know why it is done as it will make me to be quick to apply that knowledge elsewhere.

Interning for outreachy in ModECI organization came with a whole lots of benefits because i am now starting to have a clearer map into my career and i am sure that at the end of this internship with the help of my mentors and outreachy, i get to choose a career path where i can contribute immensely using the knowledge i have gained in my organization in working and creating groundbreaking projects.

If you are a data scientist, you can check out ModECI when choosing your community as it is one of the best community in outreachy, you not only gain more skill but you also get to contribute to a groundbreaking project and you get to work alongside mentors that have so much experience in the tech world ( I was so motivated after looking at their achievements, working alongside my mentors also gave me a purpose and kept reminding me that the sky is my starting point ).

I hope you enjoy reading this article as much as i enjoyed writing it. Till we see again...bye

ย