Who is Onabajo Monsurat?

Who is Onabajo Monsurat?

ยท

5 min read

Hello there,

This blog is not about any project, nor is it about anything technical or even remotely related to it. After reading a series of my blog posts, I've realized you don't really know me and it kind of wrong not to let my audience connect with the real me.

First and foremost, I am the type of person who does not how to talk about myself because i have also been trying to get the proper way to introduce myself, but when outreachy gave me this blog prompt, i sat long and hard to think about "who am i". You may be wondering what outreachy is, or you may be perplexed enough to ask "who is outreachy?" I know we're all eager to find out, but for now, let's ease our muscles and relax because we'll be there sooner than we think. This is going to be an interesting read, so grab some popcorn and join me on a short journey about myself.

Onabajo Monsurat is my name, and I am a data scientist. It feels great to finally be able to say that out loud after months of preparation. (I'm not going to get all emotional here, or at least I'm not promising not to.) Monsurat is my name, and this is my first unofficial blog ๐Ÿ˜‚.

Today, I'd like to discuss my core values, ideals, and morals, which I hold very dear. I have a plethora of values and ideals that govern my life; to name a few, I am integrous, goal-oriented, and an adventurous thrill seeker.

As an individual, I value integrity and everyone who exemplifies these virtues. I believe that while I may or may not be forgotten in the minds of others, my actions and deeds will never be forgotten. "A good name is better than gold or silver," as the saying goes. I believe I am a woman of integrity; I believe and know that doors will always open for me even before the thought of a knock. People feel very comfortable being friends with and working with me, and as a result, they can vouch for me on the spur of the moment. A side effect of my integrous personality is that I am very trusting; I believe people for what they say without question, possibly as a result of my integrous persona. I am a firm believer in the concept of "innocent until proven guilty," and the universe always seems to agree with me; I have never had cause to regret trusting anyone.

I am a goal achiever. I like to think of myself as intelligent, innovative, and unique. I am frequently complimented on being the best version of myself (but aren't we all?). I believe in making the best of any situation, so when life hands me limes, I make the best damn lemonade. Months ago, I applied for outreachy (wait, I'd get to outreachy soon) after being rejected by an access bank tech internship, despite the fact that it was a very emotional time for me. I picked myself up, assessed the situation, and attempted to comprehend why I had been rejected. From there, I continued my learning, honing my craft in order to be better prepared for the future that lay ahead. Fast forward to today, and I'm interning for an international organization, furthering my career and being a part of a vital organization. I am deliberate about my development, and I am extremely grateful to have this value.

My third core value is adventurous and thrill seeking. I consider myself to be an extremely adventurous person, from waking up one morning and deciding I wanted to change career paths into tech to always going to ride rollercoasters even though i am always screaming and promising myself i wont near there next time. I am always eager to try new things. Like the other weekend, i was out kayaking and riding a boat even though i have never rode one before.

Screenshot_20221209-145058~2.png

20221203_150412.jpg

The adrenaline rush and the fear of impending danger kept me sharp and alert. I was well aware of the risks, but sometimes we have to live on the edge to really live.

Phew! That was a mouthful, and I'm sure we're all wondering what is outreachy that i have been mentioning all day all about. Outreachy is a non-profit organization that offers three-month internships in Free and Open Source Software development (FOSS). If you want to work for an international organization, Outreachy is a great place to intern because they act as a bridge between no work experience and entry-level positions.

My motivation for applying for outreachy was that, despite having done several collaborations, I felt like I needed to do more, and the only way to do so was to apply for an internship role, which outreachy provided. They provide me with an environment in which I could learn to apply my skills to real-world problems while still being mentored by experts in the field. Outreachy aligns with my goals and then some because they provide support to underrepresented groups in technology. It's refreshing to work in an organization that actively opposes discrimination, stereotypes, and marginalization.

Despite my reluctance to discuss myself outside of the professional realm, writing this blog felt great. Writing this reminds me of how far I've come, as well as my need for continuous learning to stay at the top of my game. Acceptance by Outreachy was one of the best thing that has ever happened to me, and I am super happy to intern with my organization.

On that note, I'd like to conclude my blog. I hope you enjoyed reading this blog as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Enjoy the rest of your day.

Bye.

ย